h1

cgdc #7 – Dual Transform

February 17, 2010

Jesus Christ! This is f@*king amazing.

I’m only a little way in and yet, JESUS F@*KING CHRIST…

It’s f@*king amazing… did i say that already?

Well… i don’t care. It’s F@*KING amazing…!

Play it. Play it now!

It starts off with an equation. My first thought was, of course, WHAT THE F@*K, equations? As anybody’s would be. But then, i realised it wasn’t actually about maths at all. I thought i was good for figuring that out. Then i thought about it and thought, no… actually you’re not a genius, it’s just not about maths. Well, fair enough, i said to myself, i like a game that’s distinctly not about maths. I like that a lot.

So then it just turns weird. I was desperately trying to avoid doing any kind of maths, and in… well, desperation actually, i just typed,

>get equation
You cup your hand around the equation and compile. It shrinks obligingly into a small icon, which you take.

This is just what you were hoping for — a simple principle, from which an entire immersive world can grow. Now to drop it in the workspace and see what you get.

Ooooohhhh sweeeeeeet! I said with a big smile on my face. And that was the exact moment i fell in love with this game. So then i think to myself, hmmm… icon, huh? Ok, here goes then,

>drop icon
You raise the pressure icon, consider its intricacies, and release it into the workspace. It drifts away.

Smoothly, elegantly, the workspace turns inside out.

<drool… drool>

Not only can you drop suspicious looking equations into your very own little workspace only to have them turn the situation into a completely different(non-maths) one, but i can then do the same again, and again, and again to all the other little strange things i find in all the other strange ever changing dimensions.

And then, you can slip between the various different worlds/dimensions by simply touching the relevant icon.  And whats more you can then bring objects through to the different worlds/dimensions, and when you arrive, they may very well have turned into something entirely different.

F@*king brilliant…!!

It’s so rare for IF to provide a truly original idea, that when it does it just astonishes me. I start ranting about it, and rambling on and on about how great this is, and how, no matter what anybody says at any time in any country on any planet, I AM RIGHT…!

I could go on and on about how wonderful this game is. But, bugger it. I’ve no need to. I’m just gonna say,

PLAY IT…PLAY IT…PLAY IT NOW…PLAY IT RIGHT NOW!

10 out of 5. For being totally f@*king brilliant.

One comment

  1. Wow. Thanks.

    I’m glad it worked so well for you.



Leave a Reply

